Awards, Prizes and Research Grants

The Society awards a number of Prizes and Research Grants each year.  In 2018 the following prizes are available:

Pre-NSC Adjudicated

ASA PhD Support Grant

The Board approved the ASA PhD Support Grant Bylaw in 2005 in order to assist members of the Society to complete PhDs. Application is open to ASA members only.  Preference will be given to applicants who can demonstrate that their research will advance the safety, delivery, or efficacy of anaesthesia whilst having a favourable impact on society as a whole. The grant may be used to purchase or lease equipment, facilities or material; fund administrative or scientific support; offset research and other expenses or fund travel and accommodation. The recipient must provide a written report to the Board within six months of completion of the funded activity. Successful applicants will receive a cash grant of up to $10,000 each. Up to two Grants may be awarded annually. 

The application form can be found here.  
For further information please contact Sue Donovan  

Kevin McCaul Prize

This prize commemorates the late Dr Kevin McCaul who was, for many years, the Director of Obstetric Anaesthesia at the Royal Women’s Hospital, Melbourne. He had a major and lasting influence on obstetric anaesthesia throughout Australia. The prize was instituted in 1978 on the  occasion of his retirement as Director. The prize is administered by the ASA and is offered to ASA members who are registrars in training or junior specialists within two years of obtaining a higher qualification in anaesthesia. The prize is awarded for a written paper, critical review or essay on any aspect of anaesthesia, pain relief, physiology or pharmacology, with particular reference to the female reproductive system. The prize comprises a certificate and monies of $10,000. 

The application form can be found here.  
    For further information please contact Sue Donovan

    NSC Presentation Awards

    • ASA Poster Prize
    • GASACT Poster Prize
    • Gilbert Troup Prize
    • Rupert Hornabrook Prize 2018

    For more information please check the NSC event website 

    For further information on these Awards please visit the NSC website
    For further information on these Awards please visit the NSC website

    Day Care SIG Hornabrook Prize 

    To attract greater participation, and provide applicants with additional time to prepare their submission, the Day Care SIG would now like to offer the prize every 2 years to junior specialist anaesthetists who are within five years of having obtained their higher qualification in anaesthesia.  The prize will be awarded for an original presentation on a day care theme presented at a national scientific meeting of ANZCA, the ASA or the Day Care Anaesthesia SIG.  The prize is in the form of a one off registration to the Australian Society of Anaesthetists NSC in the year following the award.  The next prize will be awarded at the NSC in 2018 in Adelaide, South Australia.

    For further information and an updated application form, please email Maxine

    Rupert Hornabrook was a pioneer of anaesthesia in Australia, devoting the bulk of his practice in the years following the Boer War to promoting the specialty. He was honorary consultant in anaesthesia to the Melbourne General Hospital for many years and published extensively on issues of safety in anaesthesia. He was an early advocate of improved cardiovascular monitoring and was influential in popularising ethyl chloride-ether as an alternative to chloroform. In 1935, Dr Hornabrook was unanimously elected to honorary membership of the ASA and this award in his name recognises his contribution to Australasian anaesthesia.